A Weird Thing

Dan Le Sac Vs Scroobius Pip Look for the Woman Single

Love, it's a weird thing...

You may be wondering where the name to this blog page comes from?

You may not care one single jot. You might just think it was the first thing that came into my mind when asked to put a title on it.

Well, just to let you know, I did think long and hard about it. Let me explain.

I wanted a name that meant something to me. I also wanted a name that had some sort of story behind it, not something entirely random. At the time of this pondering I was listening to Dan Le Sac vs Scroobius Pip and their brilliant album Angles. The track, Look for the Woman, was playing, and I have to say that perhaps it is my favourite track of the whole album. Anyway, it was just at the part where Scroob says,

Love, it’s a weird thing ain’t it?
There’s no way to explain it
But I swear, as well as pain
There should be joy, but we sustain
The same level of mundane,
And it’s numbing me through

And that struck me as pretty significant. Love, it’s a weird thing ain’t it? Yeah, it is. And life, too. And hurt, and Bank Holiday Mondays, and Lee Mack, and religion, and egg custards, and Lady Ga Ga. All weird, weird, weird and so much more besides.

Sometimes you need to talk about the weird things. Not pretend they don’t exist. Sometimes you need to embrace them, other times avoid them. But never ignore them, never throw a Harry Potter invisibility cloak over them.

And that’s what this blog is all about. Looking at the weird things of life – love, football, music, food, faith and lots of other stuff – and seeing what they mean to me.

I’ll be here at least once a week with my thoughts and look forward to you joining me.

Weird maybe, strange definitely not.

About Neil Chappell

Husband, father, Congregational Minister and football fan all rolled into one convenient package.
This entry was posted in Music, Why and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

