A Triumphal Blog

Lent 6c – Sunday 24th March 2013 – Palm Sunday
Luke 19: 28-40

Two years ago I had the idea of beginning a weekly blog which would try and focus my mind on the forthcoming lectionary readings in readiness for the Sunday service later that week. A blog for members of my own congregation, for other Christians, and for ministers, pastors and worship leaders themselves preparing for weekly services.

My main inspiration is always from the gospel reading, but I try to put it into context with a topical news story or event that has happened to me.

This week I was overwhelmed with the number of influences I could call on:

  • The election of Pope Francis I
  • Ipswich Town footballer Tyrone Mings who bought a ticket for a ‘skint’ fan via a Twitter conversation
  • Comic Relief and a very inappropriate (and indeed offensive) sketch by Rowan Atkinson as Archbishop of Canterbury
  • The utter decimation of the England Rugby Team by a rampant Welsh XV

But no. Something more selfish. This is my 100th blog! 100 different takes on the gospel story and what it means to us. But how, I hear you ask, does this bear any relation to the Palm Sunday Reading knocking at our door this week?

Well, every version of the Bible, and every portrayal of this reading in the four gospels, has it down as The Triumphal Entry into Jerusalem. So this is A Triumphal Blog! Nothing more. Nothing less. God is good. How could I expand on that? Fantastic. Amazing grace.

And if anything could sum up my faith, my belief in God’s love and providence for my life, if I have anything to say that’s worth listening to, I would shout this from the rooftops:

Blessed is he who comes, the king in God’s name!
All’s well in heaven! Glory in the high places!

And you know, if I didn’t say it, “…the stones would do it, shouting praise.” Amen.

Happy days

About Neil Chappell

Husband, father, Congregational Minister and football fan all rolled into one convenient package.
This entry was posted in Church, Lectionary and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Triumphal Blog

  1. f woodruff says:

    Hey Neil,
    Congratulations on your 100th Post! I enjoy your thoughts and want to read the next 100!

    I also want to share how your milestone post reminded me again that God has a sense of humor…and yet He does watch over us.
    You mentioned Rowan Atkinson and the Archbishop–a story I had not heard. So I googled it. I was stumped by the terms “pre-21 watershed” and “watershed language.” So I searched that on Wikipedia. Wow. In the States, watershed is not the ridge dividing areas of land, but a land area itself that drains into a common body of water. We have the Cahaba Watershed, the land area where all rain and water drains into the Cahaba River; we have the Swannanoa Watershed that drains into the Swannanoa River; the Broad Watershed to the Broad River…you get the idea. But Wiki did a good job explaining your definition of the term and its adaptation to television and adult programing. And now the funny part. It took me about a year of planning and preparation before launching my blog “on the chancel steps.” I had gone back and forth between that name and the name “Sermon Watershed”…thinking my blog would be a resource for others to find inspiration therefore my sermons draining into collective bodies of water. Now knowing your British use of the term watershed, I wonder if a blog by the name “Sermon Watershed” would have been seen as an ‘adult’ site? and would you have found me? Not sure if I want to know your answer as I like thinking God was protecting me from inadvertent embarrassment. But I did want to share with you the moment of fun your post brought me. We are here to praise God and enjoy Him forever…thank you for the happy days and helping me enjoy the Risen and Living Lord…in so many ways! Fran

    • Thank you so much for your comment. Post-Easter seems a little depressing and very tired, but your comments have really been re-invigorating. Off this week, but the blog will be fired up and ready to go again next week. Isn’t God truly amazing? Praise the Lord. Thank you.

Leave a Reply

